Leadership and Governance


The Chancellor is the Chair of the Board of Trustees, the peak governing body of the University.

Professor Jennifer Westacott AO was appointed Chancellor from 1 January 2023 continuing a distinguished career in both the public and private sectors.

Professor Jennifer Westacott AO


The Vice-Chancellor is the University President and CEO, responsible for managing all academic and administrative areas of the University.

Professor Barney Glover AO was appointed Vice-Chancellor and President from 1 January 2014.

Vice-Chancellor Barney Glover

Board of Trustees

The governing authority of the University, the Board manages development of broad policies and strategic plans, and is informed by a number of standing committees.

Academic Senate

This is the peak forum in the University for academic debate and discourse. The Senate is a standing committee of the board, and is responsible for academic standards and values.

Office of Governance Services

The Office of Governance Services provides a wide range of support services to the governing bodies of the University, as well as managing such issues as complaint resolution and records and archives.

Governance Diagram

Governance Structure

Download full size diagram.

Sustaining Success 2021 - 2026 Strategic Plan

Approved by the Board of Trustees,  presents the mission, values, principles and enablers of ӰƵ Sydney University and provides a strategic roadmap for the next six years. It makes clear our mission and the values that underpin the business of the University, reinforcing that we are a values-based and ethical organisation.